Further SLSA Awards

MENTAL HEALTH FIRST AID (MHFA)

Become an Accredited Mental Health First Aider

Mental health first aid is the help provided to a person who is developing a mental health problem (such as anxiety, depression, psychosis or substance abuse), or who is in a mental health crisis (e.g., the person is suicidal or has had a traumatic experience). Like physical first aid, mental health first aid is given until the person receives professional help or until the crisis resolves.

 

Participants of the course will learn the signs and symptoms of these mental health problems, where and how to get help and what sort of help has been shown by research to be effective.

 

2-day MHFA course:

Saturday 30th September & Sunday 1st October 2017 from 9am to 5pm

Registration – please email waverleyeducationslsc@gmail.com

Cost $65 dollars (external facilitator)

Venue – North Bondi SLSC

 

 

ADVANCED RESUSCITATION TECHNIQUES (ARTC)

The aim of this course is to provide participants with the skills, knowledge and application of oxygen, airway management devices, and automated external defibrillators. Need to be Proficient in Bronze Medallion

 

Dates for upcoming season:

  • Course 1 – Sat 9th September 2017 9am to 4pm, Tuesday 12th September 2017 7 – 9pm, & Wed 13th September 2017 2016 6 – 9pm.
  • Course 2 – Sat 13th Jan 2018 9am to 4pm, Mon 15th Jan 2018 7 – 9pm & Wed 17th Jan 2018, 6 – 9pm.
  • Course 3 – Sat 24th Feb 2018 9am to 4pm, Tues 27th Feb 2018 7 – 9pm & Thurs 1st March 2018, 6 – 9pm

VENUE – NORTH BONDI SLSC

Registration – please email waverleyeducationslsc@gmail.com

COST – FREE

 

 

Silver Medallion Beach Management (SMBM) Courses

The purpose of this course is to help you gain basic skills and knowledge to prepare you for an entry-level beach management role within a lifesaving service.  Need to be Proficient in Bronze Medallion and be 17 years old & over

 

  • Course 1 – Monday 23rd October 6.30-9.30pm, Wednesday 25th October and Monday 30th October 6.30-9.30pm
  • Course 2 – Monday 13th November 6.30 – 9.30pm, Thursday 16th November 6.30-9.30pm & Monday 20th November 30-9.30pm

To register, please email ‘awards@northbondisurfclub.com’

Cost – Free

Venue; Sydney Branch Office, 16 Murra Murra Place, Little Bay

 

 

FIRST AID COURSE

Provides participants with the skills and knowledge to manage emergency first aid situations until professional medical support is available. You just need to be 14 years and older (available to all SRC and BM Holders)

 

Dates for this season

  1. Sat 16th December 2017 8am – 4pm
  2. Sat 10th February 2018 8am – 4pm
  3. Sun 15th April 2018 8am – 4pm

VENUE – NORTH BONDI SLSC

To register, please email ‘awards@northbondisurfclub.com’

COST – $65 (External Facilitator)

**Need to update every 3 years**